Tender Love by Gary Smolker

Tender Love

I saw “A Star is Born” Saturday night October 6, 2018.

It is a beautiful movie about two people who really love each other.

I cried while I watched the tenderness each of them displayed.

I cried while I watched how considerate they were.

Their lives were not easy.

Life is not easy.

They had each other and that made all the difference – that was worth more than anything else.

Intelligence vs. Consciousness

Intelligence is the ability to solve problems.  Consciousness is the ability to feel things such as pain, joy, love and anger.

I know a young woman whose parents insist that she get married and have babies. They keep pressuring her to get married.

Rich successful intelligent young men pursue her, propose marriage.

One young man told her he wanted to marry her because he wanted to have children and a family.

She refused to marry him because she has feelings.

She wants to marry a man who wants to marry her because he loves her, he cherishes her, he wants to take care of her, he is unselfish, he is loyal, he is compassionate, he is generous and she cherishes him and wants to take care of him too.

Her parents are outraged.  They want her to get married and have babies.

I am on her side.

She has judged each of her suitors on the basis of potential of life long social bonding.

I agree with her.

I think she should marry a man who loves her and cherishes her, and should not marry a man who only wants her for her baby creating potential.

Similarly, I think she should not marry a man who only wants her because she is beautiful, fun, intelligent eye candy and comes from a “good family.”

I believe she should stay away from pursuers/suitors who think it is of utmost importance that she comes from a family that has high social status and who think that it is of utmost importance that she has high social status.

Life Partner Decision Making

Feelings of attraction arise when biochemical algorithms calculate that a nearby individual offers a high probability of successful mating, social bonding, or some other coveted goal.

Unfortunately most people don’t know themselves very well or don’t know the person they are about to marry very well, use faulty culturally inculcated decision making formulas when making decisions, most people have muddled imprecise goal definitions and are often under tremendous pressure resulting from the situations they find themselves in while they are making a decision.

Life is full of chaos.

It is not easy to find relevant and trustworthy information.

Question: Who has time to always find relevant trustworthy information? Answer: No-one.

We will all make mistakes from having insufficient data.

I am on the side of the young woman who is “going with her feelings” about her suitors.

I am in agreement and on the side of the young woman who is making her decision about a marriage partner based on her desire to marry a man who she believes/feels she will cherish for her entire life and who she believes/feels will cherish her for his entire life.

Go See “A Star Is Born”!

Go see “A Star Is Born.”

“A Star Is Born” is a wonderful movie.

Watching the tender love the man and the woman in that movie had for each other made me cry.

Watching “A Star Is Born” will force you to pay attention to your own sensations; watching “A Star Is Born” will give you an idea of what our full human potential is.

Gary Smolker

 

Copyright © 2018 by Gary Smolker

All Rights Reserved

About Gary S. Smolker

PERSONAL PHILOSOPHY: No enterprise can exist for itself alone. Every successful enterprise ministers to some great need, it performs some great service, not for itself, but for others. Otherwise, it ceases to be profitable and ceases to exist. Imagination, open mindedness and flexibility are the most important factors in unlocking potential. Those who embrace innovation, improvisation, continuous learning, time management, are action oriented, high energy, passionate, creative, purposeful and intense individuals are best equipped to succeed. We all have ideas and the ability to make progress by sharing information and our ideas and also by changing our ideas when appropriate. We should always be on the lookout for teaching and mentoring moments. We hold time like water in our hands; however tightly we clench our fingers, it drips away. But, if it falls on a seed, a seed may grow to become something that will have a positive social impact. PERSONAL INTERESTS: I have a passion to learn, to innovate, to lead, to mentor and to teach. I seek to write things worth reading and want to do things worth writing about. I enjoy (a) driving a fast car, (b) having intense conversations (c) teaching/mentoring, (d) reading and (e) being involved in productive activity. PERSONAL: I believe in cultivating and backing passionate people, innovation, and old fashioned good ideas. I love making human connections and spreading good ideas. I am strongly motivated to achieve in situations in which independence of thought and action are called for. PERSONAL GOALS: I want to live life vibrantly, to be as sharp as a tack until my last breath and to change the world by being me. My personal goal is to be fully engaged in life, to lead by example, to set high standards and to continue to amass firsthand experience and knowledge in all that interests me. PERSONALITY: I love fun and mischief. I relish absurdity. I have an irreverent, facetious and satiric disposition. I dread boredom. I have spent a lifetime reading. I have no bias against people who have lived successful and/or complicated lives. I write to release tension, to get things off my chest. SOCIAL MEDIA: I post articles on the "Gary S. Smolker Idea Exchange" blog at www.garysmolker.wordpress.com, and "Dude's Guide to Women's Shoes" at www.dudesguidetowomensshoes.com. I also post images and comments on Instagram @garyspassion. CONTACT INFORMATION: Gary Smolker, Smolker Law Firm, 16055 Ventura Blvd., Ste 525, Encino, California, 91436-2609, USA. Phone 1-818-788-7290, e-mail GSmolker@aol.com.

Posted on October 8, 2018, in love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey Gary, well written!!
    Dan Jones here, from P.S.H.S. Days.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.