People Know How to Have Fun – by Gary Smolker

   

When I got out of Mendy’s Gym Sunday night (April 23, 2017), I walked less than one block up Van Nuys Blvd. ,to the intersection of Van Nuys Blvd. with Victory Blvd., to see what was going on.

Above are photographs I took as I was approaching the giant multicolored Ferris Wheel.

I continued past the barrier and Ferris Wheel, up Van Nuys Blvd.

Past the barrier, Van Nuys Blvd. was packed with people having fun.

The next three blocks Van Nuys Blvd. were packed with street fair activities: rides, games, food for sale.

Below are photographs I took as I continued to walk up Van Nuys Blvd.,  after I passed the barrier on Victory Blvd.

 

 

   

 

   

       

 

Imagine

Imagine bringing children here.

 

 

The were activities for everybody.

The fair was for all ages.

Young adults and grown-ups had lots to do and lots of fun doing everything.

   

Fair Food

I couldn’t resist buying a corn dog.

Corn dogs, cotton candy, snow cones, churros, popcorn, ice cream, lemonade, soft drinks and bottled water were for sale.

See photos below.

Mariachis Serenading Police Officers

A band of Mariachis serenaded those police officers who were on duty at the Los Angeles Police Department Van Nuys Community Substation located in the midst of the street fair.

The Mariachis and I, and I’m sure everyone else at the street fair, appreciate that the police protect and serve us.

See photos below, taken by me at the street fair Sunday night.

Fundraising to Provide Support for Community Youth Programs

The Street Fair on Van Nuys Blvd. was put on by the Van Nuys Substation of the Los Angeles Police Department to raise money for youth programs.

I think that is a wonderful thing for a Police Department to do.

I never heard of that being done before.

Painless Donation

Being at the street fair was like being in another world.

As a donor, paying for what was offered at this street fair was a Painless Fun Fundraising experience for me.

Fun

I had a great time.

It looked to me like everyone else was having and had a great time also.

Next Adventure

I will be flying to South Dakota on Thursday, April 27, 2017.

There is a large herd of wild mustangs in South Dakota.

The mustang with its mane flying and its hooves thundering has a hold on my imagination.

To me the mustang is a symbol of power and breakneck freedom, and of the untamable frontier spirit.

While in South Dakota, I will also check out Mount Rushmore, the badlands, and other sights of interest to me in South Dakota.

Copyright © 2017 Gary Smolker, All Rights Reserved

About Gary S. Smolker

PERSONAL PHILOSOPHY: No enterprise can exist for itself alone. Every successful enterprise ministers to some great need, it performs some great service, not for itself, but for others. Otherwise, it ceases to be profitable and ceases to exist. Imagination, open mindedness and flexibility are the most important factors in unlocking potential. Those who embrace innovation, improvisation, continuous learning, time management, are action oriented, high energy, passionate, creative, purposeful and intense individuals are best equipped to succeed. We all have ideas and the ability to make progress by sharing information and our ideas and also by changing our ideas when appropriate. We should always be on the lookout for teaching and mentoring moments. We hold time like water in our hands; however tightly we clench our fingers, it drips away. But, if it falls on a seed, a seed may grow to become something that will have a positive social impact. PERSONAL INTERESTS: I have a passion to learn, to innovate, to lead, to mentor and to teach. I seek to write things worth reading and want to do things worth writing about. I enjoy (a) driving a fast car, (b) having intense conversations (c) teaching/mentoring, (d) reading and (e) being involved in productive activity. PERSONAL: I believe in cultivating and backing passionate people, innovation, and old fashioned good ideas. I love making human connections and spreading good ideas. I am strongly motivated to achieve in situations in which independence of thought and action are called for. PERSONAL GOALS: I want to live life vibrantly, to be as sharp as a tack until my last breath and to change the world by being me. My personal goal is to be fully engaged in life, to lead by example, to set high standards and to continue to amass firsthand experience and knowledge in all that interests me. PERSONALITY: I love fun and mischief. I relish absurdity. I have an irreverent, facetious and satiric disposition. I dread boredom. I have spent a lifetime reading. I have no bias against people who have lived successful and/or complicated lives. I write to release tension, to get things off my chest. SOCIAL MEDIA: I post articles on the "Gary S. Smolker Idea Exchange" blog at www.garysmolker.wordpress.com, and "Dude's Guide to Women's Shoes" at www.dudesguidetowomensshoes.com. I also post images and comments on Instagram @garyspassion. CONTACT INFORMATION: Gary Smolker, Smolker Law Firm, 16055 Ventura Blvd., Ste 525, Encino, California, 91436-2609, USA. Phone 1-818-788-7290, e-mail GSmolker@aol.com.

Posted on April 24, 2017, in California Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

