Posted on December 18, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Does not fit for me. I am an extreme extrovert and I don’t drive fast.(Anymore) this story from my book tells why I changed my ways,
    He Said Enough

    For all practical purposes, I grew up without a father. I did have a father, but he had a business and was away at “meetings” most of the time. I didn’t understand about those “meetings” until I was much older. At any rate, the way I grew up must have had some bearing on why I was so mischievous. I wasn’t destructive, but I was a troublemaker. Many years later, my small town high school principle told me that he hadn’t thought that I would never amount to anything. I finished high school and entered a big university. I had no business there, as I was not ready for such a big transition. After two semesters I was dismissed for unacceptable grades. I cashed in an insurance policy that my grandfather had purchased for each of his grand children before he died. I took the money and bought a big Norton motorcycle. One weekend, I returned to my hometown, and cruised around challenging anyone to drag. School was out and the street in front of the school was my drag strip. I was on the third or forth challenge with a Mustang. As we screamed by the school, the Principle stepped out from behind a tree and flagged me down. He must have walked to school that morning, and had been in his office the whole time I had been racing by. He approached me, his lips quivering as they always had when he was angry. I expected him to give me a long lecture about the dangers of racing. He came up close to me and hesitated for a moment and then he said, “You know, it’s no disgrace to be ignorant, but it sure is a disgrace to stay ignorant all your life”. He turned and walked backed to his office.
    That was my last race. He had said enough.
    ©2010 “Crossing The Road”

    • We are all subject to sociogenic forces.

      See “Six Dance Lessons in Six Weeks”, a movie staring Gena Rowlands and Cheyenne Jackson, released on December 12, 2014.

      Since its opening as a play in Los Angeles and on Broadway it has been translated into 14 languages and produced in 24 countries. It is now one of the most produced plays in the world.

      I found in that movie a clear explanation of why there were riots in Ferguson and significant outbursts of social unrest in the rest of the United States after one grand jury decided not to indict the policeman who killed Micheal Brown in Ferguson, Mo. and another grand jury decided not to indict the police men who killed Eric Garner in NYC.

      In that movie, Gena Rowlands (playing an “old – 76 year old – lady”) explains to Cheyenne Jackson (playing a young handsome “gay” dance instructor) that when you become an old woman (her husband – a Southern Baptist minister who hated blacks, gays and Jews – had passed away seven years ago) people look right through you; you become invisible.

      Cheyenne Jackson explains to Gena Rowlands what it is like to be a “gay” man — people assume all kinds of awful things about you, without knowing you they hate you and/or fear you.

      I was a student at the University of California, Berkeley while the so called “Free Speech Movement” was going on in full force. Believe it or not, some people surrounding the police car in Sproul Hall and not letting it leave, perceived their criminality to be a form of social struggle.

      I was a graduate student at Cornell University when armed black students took over Willard Straight Hall, the student union. I forget what they were protesting. I assume they were protesting something.

      From those two experiences, while I was a teenager, it occured to me that by the time certain types of criminality takes the form of combinations, in the minds of the “criminals” — in this case student protesters – criminality no longer has the same meaning to the people “protesting” as it does to society at large.

      Criminality has a long history of being a form of revolt.

      Carrying the trajectory of that idea furhter, How do you explain the “Boston Tea Party”?

      How do you explain “The Declaration of Independence”?

      We are defined as Americans by our beliefs.

Leave a Reply

